Planner Organization: Monthly

So, if you know me at all, you probably know that I am an organization junkie.  And the culmination of all my organizational efforts is… (pause for dramatic effect) MY PLANNER.  For almost two years now, I have sworn by the Erin Condren Life Planner, and I still don’t think I will ever buy a different planner ever again.  This planner seriously has everything I could have ever wanted: months, days, morning/afternoon/night sections, stickers, pockets… I could go on.  I know they’re expensive, but they’re totally worth it.  Okay, rant about EC planners – over.

Organizing my monthly calendar is one of the most important things I do with my planner.  Taking the time to write everything down in my monthly at-a-glance keeps me organized and ready for anything.  Whenever someone asks me if I can take an extra shift at work, or if I can grab dinner, or really anything else – I need to check my monthly calendar.  Here is a picture of my monthly calendar for February. (I sometimes decorate with stickers)

Image

I use different colored pens to color code things on my monthly calendar, for example work is in blue, sorority in purple, classes in dark pink & mint, other events in light pink.  I am constantly adding more things and categories and more colors, so my calendar is basically never the same from month to month.  I use stickers that came with the planner such as doctors appointments, dentist appointments, plays, etc., but I also had personalizable stickers made from Erin Condren.  I use these all the time for sorority events, work events, dinners, and many other things.  I also make use of the blank stickers that come with the planner.
Image

I then use the Martha Stewart Home Office Removable Labels for school projects and exams.

Image

Taking the time to figure out this system has really paid off for me, because I really am very organized and rarely do not have something written down in my planner.  This allows me to be able to be less stressed, and be able to see everything for that month in one spread.  I think that this can help many people become more organized in their lives, or at least give some tips to help with organization.

Are you an organization junkie?  Is your planner your best friend?

More juice later! – Jen

Leave a Reply

