Tips for List-Making

If you know me personally, you know I am an organizer.  I love organizing myself and taking time to write things in my planner, and I enjoy helping others with this too.  Heck, my dream job is to be a Professional Organizer.

So by this nature, I am a list-maker.  I’m the one who makes a to-do list everyday, and swears by “write it down so you can cross it off.”  It just helps me feel productive and successful.

Here are my top tips for list-making:

  • Give your lists titles.  This will help you keep lists separate, and know exactly what you are trying to accomplish.
  • Write down everything.  No task is too small when it comes to making lists.  Write down tiny tasks so that you can have that accomplished feeling upon crossing them off.
  • Start a new list everyday.  Starting a new list everyday will help you focus and understand what needs to get done for a given day.  Transferring items that didn’t get finished the day before will help put the current day into perspective and keep items from being forgotten.
  • Keep ongoing lists.  Make lists that will take time to complete, and maybe even date items as you complete them.  This helps to complete larger tasks in more manageable steps.
  • Switch up where/how you make lists.  I make lists in all kinds of ways: using stickers, checkboxes, with washi, crossed-off, etc.  Make all kinds of lists in many different ways – you will find that some ways are better suited for one kind of list.

These are the most relevant and applicable listing tips that I use and live by, and I hope they help you too!

3 thoughts on “Tips for List-Making

Leave a Reply

